Science Scholars Symposium 2019

Tuesday, April 9 and Friday, April 12

Program Timeline

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

Time Event Location
7:00 p.m. Dr. Chris Manzella ISHS 117

Follow your gut: my path from Fisher to MD-PhD in gastrointestinal physiology

After graduating Honeoye Falls Lima (HF-L) High School in 2009, I matriculated at St. John Fisher College with the intent of applying to pharmacy school. I was registered as a chemistry major and was enrolled in pharmacy prerequisite courses. However, my interests began to shift during my freshman year, which led me to pursue an additional major in mathematics. I also decided to apply to medical school instead of pharmacy school. Research experiences in both chemistry and mathematics made me realize that I want to incorporate scientific discovery into my future career. I joined the MD-PhD program at the University of Illinois at Chicago in 2013 where I recently completed my PhD in gastrointestinal physiology. My research focuses on the role of the neurotransmitter/hormone serotonin (5-hydroxytryptamine, 5-HT) in the intestine. I made the novel discovery that 5-HT is able to activate a receptor called the aryl hydrocarbon receptor which is important in detoxifying chemicals and modulating immune responses. While shifting scientific fields was daunting at first, I quickly realized that my training in chemistry and mathematics at Fisher gave me a unique perspective to solve problems within the field of physiology while also preparing me for the challenges of medical school.

Friday, April 12, 2019

Time Event Location
4:45 p.m. Registration, Poster Set-up ISHS Lobby ISHS Atrium
5:00 p.m. Opening Remarks WSOP Atrium 1
5:15 – 5:50 p.m. Poster Session ISHS Atrium
6:00 – 7:00 p.m. Presentation Session 1 WSOP 129&133 ISHS 116&117
7:00 – 7:15 p.m. Break
7:15 – 8:15 p.m. Presentation Session 2 WSOP 129&133 ISHS 116&117

WSOP is the Wegman’s School of Pharmacy.

Between 5:00 and 7:15 p.m. hors d’oeuvres will be available in the WSOP Atrium 1.

The poster session features the junior Science Scholars (Class of 2020) presenting posters about their proposed research projects. These projects will be conducted during the Fall 2019 semester and the results will be presented at the 2020 Science Scholars Symposium.

Junior Science Scholars

Jeffrey Lenish                     Allen Murphy

Matina Chanthavongsay      Thomas Pasquale   

Maura Connorton               Nathan Shimer

Evan Gudell                       Adrianna Soucy     

Nathan Halsteter                 Robert Weber

Maxwell Howe                   Taylor Welch         

Brady Jensen                       Aaron Wilkins       

Cassandra LeClair                    

Students from all classes of Science Scholars will be available throughout the Symposium to assist with   directions and to answer questions.

Presentation Schedule

Presentation Session 1

  WSOP 129 ISHS 117 ISHS 118 WSOP 133
6:00 Jarrett Pelton (1) Alexandria Szpila (5) Samantha Tardugno (10) Robert Markwick (14)
6:20 Olivia Culbertson (2) Michael Chase (6) Olivia Marziale (11) Jonathan Robinson (14)
6:40 Amanda Canfield (1) Leah Forehand (5) Miranda Williamson (10) Emily Strong (15)

Presentation Session 2

  WSOP 129 ISHS 117 ISHS 118 WSOP 133
7:15 Erin Tiede (3) Grace Stoklosa (7) Irina Ardelean-Growden (12) Edward Tabone (16)
7:35 Jonathan Perri (4) Anne Kraft (8) Evan Bourtis (13) Charles Petruzelli (15)
7:55 Kathleen Lowry (3) Ryan Prawel (9) John Miller (12)  

Research Advisors:

1 Dr. Renuka Manchanayakage
2 Dr. Irene Kimaru
3 Dr. Brad Kraft
4 Dr. Fang Zhao
5 Dr. Michele Saul
6 Dr. Fernando Ontiveros-Llamas
7 Dr. Jonelle Mattiacio
8 Dr. Noveera Ahmed
9 Dr. Edward Freeman
10 Dr. Maryann Herman
11 Dr. Jonathan Millen
12 Dr. Kristin Picardo
13 Dr. Kaitlin Bonner and Dr. Michael Boller
14 Dr. Krsna Dev
15 Dr. Kris Green
16 Dr. Barney Ricca
Posted by / April 8, 2019